XML Explorer 4.0.5

Rating:        Based on 10 ratings
Reviewed:  10 reviews
Downloads: 268925
Released: Oct 21, 2011
Updated: Oct 21, 2011 by jcoon
Dev status: Beta Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application XmlExplorer.Setup.msi
application, 1159K, uploaded Oct 21, 2011 - 257327 downloads

Other Available Downloads

Application XmlExplorer.zip
application, 939K, uploaded Oct 21, 2011 - 11598 downloads

Release Notes

Changes in 4.0.5:
  • Added 'Copy Attribute XPath to Address Bar' feature.
  • Added methods for decoding node text and value from Base64 encoded strings, and copying them to the clipboard.
  • Added 'ChildNodeDefinitions' to the options, which allows for easier navigation of parent-child and ID-IDREF relationships. Discovery happens on-demand, as nodes are expanded and child nodes are added. Nodes can now have 'virtual' child nodes, defined by an xpath to select an identifier (usually relative to the current node like @id), and another xpath to find matching virtual child nodes using that identifier, like //*@parentId='{0}'. Standard String.Format syntax is used.
  • Improved the expressions pane with a proper toolbar with buttons to launch, edit, delete, and filter expressions.
  • Changed expressions pane behavior, selection no longer executes expressions, only activation (double-click or enter to select, hold shift to launch new tab).
  • Improved performance of syntax highlighting.
  • Fixed some issues with xpath expressions not updating the toolbar buttons and xpath textbox.
  • Fixed the XML Schema link on the Errors pane.
  • Added a ShowNodeToolTips, which sets the property of the same name on the TreeView control, which changes the way tooltips are shown on nodes. It does not hide tooltips entirely (like the name suggests) but only changes tooltips to show directly over a node, or to the lower-left of the cursor, like normal tooltips.
  • Disabled the 'end tag' nodes that were being added on expansion, and removed on collapse. This decreases the amount of 'flicker' when expanding and collapsing nodes. I'll eventually add another option for this.
  • Added an ExceptionDialog, instead of showing exceptions in a MessageBox. Allows for easy copying of exception and stack trace text.
  • Fixed an exception when trying to copy or drag a text node.
  • Fixed formatting issues when copying node XML.

Changes in 4.0.2:
  • Added an 'Open URL' button and File menu item, will download and open XML files from a user-specified URL. Added handling of certificate errors and basic HTTP authentication.
  • Added additional methods to XPathNavigatorTreeView to enable better integration into 3rd party applications.

Changes in 4.0.1:
  • Added settings pane, allows changing user settings, some of which take effect immediately (UseSyntaxHighlighting, Font, ForeColor).
  • Fixed an excpetion and a slight but annoying delay during startup, both related to automatic update checking.
  • Added XPath selection Up and Down buttons, providing the ability to select beyond the first XPath match. Enter key selects the first match, then repeated Enter key presses selects the next match. Added label next to buttons to show current location within results, like '1 of 50'.

Changes in 4.0:
  • This release is built on the Microsoft .NET Framework 4 Client Profile.
  • Changed XSD validation to use the schema specified by the XML documents.
  • Added a VS style Error List, double-clicking an error takes you to the offending node.
    • XPathNavigator schema validation finally gives SourceObject (was fixed in .NET 4).
  • Added Namespaces window and better support for XPath expressions in documents with a default namespace.
  • Added ExpandAll and CollapseAll toolbar buttons (in addition to the already present main menu and context menu items).
  • Added a prompt on first run (per user) to choose default file types (Vista, Win7 and newer).
  • Setup now registers XML Explorer with Windows as a recommended program for opening .xml, .xsd, .config, .xsl files (Open With).
  • Refactored the XPathNavigatorTreeView and its dependencies to a separate project. Should be easier and lighter to use from other projects now (no dependency on docking library).

Reviews for this release

     
Great product, first thing I was able to utilize that would open multiple 300+MB sized XML files, pretty quickly, (about 15sec per file). The only thing that prevents me from giving this a 5 is the missing Search\Find, Find Next option... maybe even a Find\Replace feature, but definitely need that Search\Find. Thank you for a very good product
by MBooheister on Nov 18, 2016 at 1:28 PM
     
Awesome software - was able to open a 965MB XML file in 53 seconds! I don't know many programs that can do that and then yet still handle the XML xpathing etc. that this does on top of that *slow clap*
by cavaliersa on Aug 22, 2016 at 11:52 AM
Thank you, glad to hear it!
Reply by jcoon (Coordinator) on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:33 PM
     
This is not a full review - I just wanted to comment on performance. I have a HUGE XML file (about 500M) that I need to explore. My go-to editor (notepad++) crashed; XML Notepad crashed. XML Explorer chugged a bit but managed to open the file, reporting elapsed 176 seconds. It is taking a few seconds to render the data when I click to open a node but so far it's doing the trick. F.Y.I. I'm running Windows 10 on an HP Pavilion core i3 processor. Also, the file is UK travel database NAPTAN - freely downloadable if you want to do any tuning.
by Bellissimmo on Aug 8, 2016 at 4:13 PM
Thank you! That's a great dataset for testing. I just opened it in 130 seconds, but I'm on a Core i7. Once loaded, it took a few seconds to expand StopPoints, but it has 427,928 child nodes! I'll perform more testing when I have more time, but I suspect most of that time is being spent by the .NET Framework loading the XPathDocument. If so, I won't easily be able to improve it much, if any. After saving the file with formatting, I was able to open and edit the file in Visual Studio 2015 without issue. VS will crash on huge files on a single line, but as long as they're formatted with each element on a new line, it seems to perform really well.
Reply by jcoon (Coordinator) on Aug 9, 2016 at 2:14 PM
     
Great tool to quickly dig into XML files. Performed great (even with syntax-highlighting turned on) on my 40+MB PLM XML file! Thank you for providing such a great tool!!!
by Merlin2001 on May 25, 2016 at 10:27 AM
     
Tried to open a 250MB file, did not complete within the first 10 seconds. Uninstall. Sorry, in my opinion, does not work as advertised: "extremely fast". Thank you for the open source effort, though.
by nde on Feb 19, 2015 at 7:23 AM
Thanks for the feedback! Any chance I could get a copy of the file? I'd love to improve the load time. The largest file I could find just now is 160MB, and it opens in 9 seconds. Let me know if you find another app that can handle large files better, most just hang or crash.
Reply by jcoon (Coordinator) on Feb 20, 2015 at 1:50 PM
     
Amazing. The best visual software to manipulate, transform and validate XML files.
by avmesquita on Dec 15, 2014 at 6:21 PM
     
excellent xpath tester!
by gvlx on Jul 22, 2014 at 8:37 PM
     
j'écris un commentaire.
by Noxy_ on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:21 PM
Voulez-vous donner un peu plus de commentaires?
Reply by jcoon (Coordinator) on Jul 11, 2014 at 3:00 PM
     
Works as advertised!
by vixay on Jan 27, 2014 at 7:58 AM
     
nice tool for desktop. if you are looking for online visit this site. http://codebeautify.org/xmlviewer
by jamesmalvi on Oct 6, 2014 at 1:30 PM